• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PGM Avengers 11

29 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie here (obviously!), and still learning about grading, so this forum will be a good test for me.

I agree with Dad&Son on this one: CGC 6.5 Fine+

I'd like to say 7.5, but there are a few too many visible stress lines, plus the visible bends/creases on the front and back (even though they don't break the ink), and blunted corners.

How'd I do? Anything else I'm missing?

How does the PGX grading differ from CGC? Can anyone point me in the direction of a link with PGX info?

6.5, based on creases, especially on back cover. Book would probably be improved by pressing, if one were so inclined.

interesting observations - i'll guess that CGC gave this book a 5.5 and PGX a 5.0. those non-color breaking creases on the FC spine are not too bad but will still drop the grade appreciably. tho BC creases though are gradekillers. I had a few books with these kind of BC defects get hammered................ frown.gif

still a VERY displayable copy............ thumbsup2.gif

Those long bends on the back make it a really tough call. CGC can hammer those, and sometimes they seem to let 'em slide. My sense is that PGX would grade slightly higher than CGC on a midgrade book.

I'd say CGC 7.0, PGX 7.5

Me: 7.0

If you were so inclined, a light dry clean with a white eraser on the back cover would probably improve eye appeal greatly. The bends are accentuated by the light dirt along the ridges.

I knew this one would fool most, It would me, but Zipper got the closest to real, and to actuall.

Mind you guys for some reason my hi-rez scanner magnified creases on back. In hand they are barely noticable...that being said.

My grade in hand 8.0