• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PGX Sale Prices versus CGC

184 posts in this topic

It seems that whenever the subject of PGX comes up, that the conversation becomes antagonistic. For that reason, I haven't joined-in even though I have some experience. I decided to start a new thread hoping to discuss the pros/cons of PGX/CGC in a data-driven manner.

A couple of years ago, I made use of PGX. Eugene is only about an hour from me and many of the books I wanted graded were of moderate value. For a SA book worth less than $80, the $30 cost of CGC grading (all things considered after discount and RT shipping) is almost prohibitive.

By driving down to Eugene, I paid about $14 a book for grading. And yes, I met Daniel.

The grades that I received from PGX were a bit lower than I was expecting, but now that I have a lot more experience with 3rd party grading, I accept that Daniel's grading was more accurate than my own.

About a year ago, after becoming active on these boards, I learned that PGX slabs were at a disadvantage, in terms of resale price, to CGC slabs. CGC, as we all know, is the gold standard. I also became interested in the CGC registry. I decided, to resub a few books to CGC, partially to fill a few holes in my registry sets but also, I was curious about how the grading would compare.

GRADING COMPARE

________________PGX GRADE__CGC GRADE

Silver Surfer #1______8.0____________7.5

X-Men #4__________5.5____________6.0

X-Men #62_________8.5____________8.0

X-Men #63_________9.0____________8.5

X-Men #66_________8.5____________8.0

As you can see, I typically dropped 0.5 points. In one case, I got a +0.5 bump.

RESALE VALUE