• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

If we are supposed to collect what we owned as a youth...

52 posts in this topic

Then why am I drawn to Pre code and GA comics? (shrug)

Was it through exposure to them, a profound nostalgia for times gone by the older I get?

While I know plenty of comic and memorabilia collectors (many my age) who could care less about GA books, it makes me wonder if they have ever held, read and understood what the book they were holding actually represented. Not just as a comic book but as a part of american history. Or have they and just dont give a rats asss?

I understand all to well that I am new to GA comics, and preaching to the choir here, but was wondering if my progression was atypical,or if everyone here has had a similar path to GA books.

Or did many of you know from the get go that GA was it?

I was turned on to GA through the reprint books of my youth....late 60's early 70's.I was drawn to it's exhuberance and originality.A lot of late silver ,early bronze was filled with attempts to recreate a style or genre while the GA was bursting at the seems with experimentation and newness.GOD BLESS...

-jimbo(a friend of jesus) (thumbs u

Besides JC, who else says we can only collect what we liked as kids and must be afraid of broadening our horizons as we learn more about our particular hobby? (shrug)