• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Date Stamps

40 posts in this topic

Hi Guys, Please forgive my ignorance on this subject, I am new to alot of this and still learning. I'm sure there is a thread or something on this subject, just havent seen it. Some of my old comics have a date stamp on them. I have seen this mentioned on the boards before and am wondering was this a common practice back in the day for dealers to do and does it affect the CGC grade? I appreciate any insight on this.

They don't affect the grade at all assuming it's those small standard size date stamps.

That's correct, now handwritten dates can be another story, light pencil or pen is not a problem, but if the person pressed really hard when writing and left an impression in the cover that you are able to see on the inside, that can effect the grade.

Date stamps were placed on comics by the newsdealers in the old days so they would know how long the comics had been on the racks. The retailer would go through the comics display and pull all books that hadn't sold within a certain amount of time (a month?) and return them to the publisher for credit. Some arrival dates were stamps, others were hand-written with pencil or pen. Some are on the front cover, some on the back. Most of them do not affect the grade, especially if they are stamped, but I have seen some really bad ones that were written with a grease pencil. I would suspect that some of the hand-written ones could bring the grade down a bit if they are large, sloppy, or if they leave an indentation as mentioned above.