• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

comicconnect grading

29 posts in this topic

Was putting down some bids and saw more than a few books that made me :think:.

I'm no expert, so maybe you can be my sanity check.

Is this really an 8.0?

Stain on front cover. Tear on top spine FC. Tear on back cover edge.

http://www.comicconnect.com/bookDetail.php?id=355183&enlarge=1

Haven't done much business with comicconnect in the past.. is over-grading standard practice over there?

This is basically Metropolis comics. Expect them to be over-graded by.5 to 1 on most books, compared to CGC. These are the comments I have seen on the boards, not my own. Also this book might be a bad example if using CGC standards as they hammer stains.

This is basically Metropolis comics. Expect them to be over-graded by.5 to 1 on most books, compared to CGC. These are the comments I have seen on the boards, not my own. Also this book might be a bad example if using CGC standards as they hammer stains.

I agree with this assessment. Metro's grading is a bit looser than CGC's.

ComicConnect also accepts consignments. I've seen some listings as "grade verified by ComicConnect". The implication to me is that there are some books that are graded by the owners of the books and not necessarily by ComicConnect themselves. YMMV

...and I don't think anybody is as hard on stains as CGC

Thanks for the feedback.

I bought a bunch of Dell file copies from Metropolis. Gorgeous high-grade books, but many have severe tanning on the edges of the inside covers -- typical of the Dell file copies, I have found through other sellers. I know CGC would grade them down because of this.. but just about everyone else continues to grade them NM. *shrug*