• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The "I've Never Done This Before But I want to get a SS Sketch Cover" Thread

23 posts in this topic

OK, so I'm a SS novice, but a convention veteran. For the upcoming NYCC I wanted to get my first sketch covers done and (possibly, probably) put in yellow label goodness.

Obviously, there are a ton of questions I have.

(1) How/who do I approach for sketch covers? I assume it's only the people set up in artist's alley; do I go right to them or CGC if I want a SS sketch cover done.

(2) At what point do I need to make sure CGC is involved so I can get the yellow label?

(3) Will it be pretty easy to find the coveted blank covers at the con or is it generally a situation where I need to bring what I want?

(4) Is there anything I'm forgetting? :cry:

I'm excited to try this and expand my collecting horizons. I'm also so overwhelmed that I don't want to mess up and have a bad taste left over from my first SS-con-"quest" (ok, that was a bad pun).

Thanks everyone! :wishluck:

If your dead set on getting one ONLY done at a CON...... then you may want to bring your own blanks in tip top condition.

Certain artists are actually there with yellow labeled CGC SS SKETCH slabs for you 2 choose from on display as well which may save ya time should you see something you like!

Also getting a sketch created can be done quite often right from this section of the forum if you visit and browse for opportunities frequently.

Rich

In my experience (which was Wizard Philly)

CGC was on site @ Philly.

you have to go to CGC Booth First and let them know what you are doing. Then a employee from CGC walks over with you to the artist and watches you drop off the book.