• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheGeneral's Introduction

27 posts in this topic

Hi everybody, I’ve been a member for a couple of months now, learning more about our hobby, and I thought that I would give you all a little more background on me before I attempt to sell some books.

I have been collecting comics for the past 6 years. The best explanation I have for beginning to collect would be that I had always followed my friends when I was younger and got suckered into gaming card trends (Pokemon, Yu-gi-oh, Magic the Gathering). I would frequently go into local comic stores looking for good deals on the latest cards, and usually when I went in or any younger kids walked through the door, the clerk would automatically say “We don’t sell..(insert latest fad)..cards.” That hobby didn’t last and I was always getting dominated when I played against other people in local tournaments (what a waste of time!).

Eventually I picked up some comics at one of my local stores, and my collection has exploded since then. I primarily did business on eBay during the first few years of my collecting, and I learned from many early mistakes (none too costly fortunately). Later, I found mycomicshop.com and used their unique buying system to do a ton of business with them. However, over the past year, they have significantly lowered their buying prices, and they don’t buy too much expensive stuff, so I am exploring new outlets to buy and sell (I think they are still a very good business however). I now buy from most of the major comic auction houses on the internet, and have found them all to be great (Heritage, Comiclink, Pedigree, etc..)