• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The first KEY book you acquired

106 posts in this topic

I have been collecting since about 1996 when I stumbled into (of all places) a video store. That is when I saw a few comics at the counter. I read wizard and talked comics with friends so I knew that the Fantastic Four 16,19,20 were good property. I paid 20 dollars for all 3. (the 16 recently graded a 6.0) Those stories got me HOOKED. It wasn't long before I got my first key. I just loved the Silver Surfer :)

4ozp.jpg

I would probably out the same comic forward from my collection

I do have some tales of suspense with 1st titanium man, 1st SA red skull, 1st Modok, but I'm not entirely sure yet what rates as a true 'key'.

Maybe I'll be enlightened as the thread goes on.

Paul

When I first got into comics as a kid (1988) I bought what was the biggest key I could afford in my favorite character at the time, Wolverine Vol.1 #1 (actually got the whole Claremont/Miller 1-4).

When I got back into comics as an adult a couple years ago, the first real key I bought was Incredible Hulk #181. That was the first real "expensive" comic I bought.

The first silver age key I bought, and I suppose the first mega-key, was X-Men #1.

I think the first "key", although a minor one, has been Fantastic Four #3, which I picked up as a CGC 3.0 about ten years ago. Then I upgraded to a better raw copy with minimal color touch so I can read it… :D

As far as Golden Age goes, I think the closer I have to a key book is a low grade copy of National Comics #18, with the Pearl Harbor anticipation story (don’t have a scan at hand).

5Gk5ERth.jpg