• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need advice: Strange Tales 110 CGC 9.0 or higher

48 posts in this topic

Hello,

I could really use and appreciate this forum's advice.

I have been a huge Doctor Strange fan for some time and was thrilled when I bought a Strange Tales 115 in CGC 9.2. However I also would like a high grade Strange Tales 110 as well.

That being said, prices have exponentially rose on this book and I am worried prices may fall due to a lackluster movie or if fans lose interest. What are your thoughts? Is it now overvalued, especially at the 9.2 level?

Any help is truly appreciated.

Kindly,

mint

It is certainly not overpriced at this stage. Rather it still has some time to go before it reaches a temporary plateau. There has been hardly any hype so far (except amongst the die-hards). This phase is the mystical phase for Marvel according to Feige... in other words (roughly speaking).. the time of Dr Strange! The current prices will look cheap in a year, and even cheaper in 2.

The real issue is where will it land after the movie has launched. The new normal is buy to hold after the irrational exuberance of movie hype is over.

Movie hype is over.... Tales of Suspense 39 was never a big book. Iron-man was at most a second row character. "A movie is coming, but when the hype is over.." ... and now many years later.... Iron-man is still at the center of Marvel's cinematic endeavors...

History shows that Marvel often do not see characters they choose to put the spotlight on as use and throw away.... rather they become and more used.

Again, who knows? But I think ST110 is prices are higher in both 1, 2, and 3 years. It's a bit unrealistic to look further into the future than that...