• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

HA Auctions

24 posts in this topic

Does HA capture and make available the bid increments and who bidded (not the person but the source - live, internet, phone, etc.)? I am curious if I am able to see how the bidding played out on an item I won.

Sorry if this is an obvious question - newbie here on HA experience.

No, just what type of bid won.

Thanks, that is what I was starting to think as I could not find anything online.

Does HA have the ability to bid on their own auctions?

I believe they do, it's even written in the small print somewhere that Heritage employees are allowed to bid on auctions.

They used to use a bidder called "NP Gresham"

James Halperin, one of the owners of the auction house, testified under oath that N.P Gresham does not exist, but is in fact "Heritage or partnerships involving Heritage or independent contractors that worked for Heritage."

No, just what type of bid won.

Thanks, that is what I was starting to think as I could not find anything online.

Does HA have the ability to bid on their own auctions?

I believe they do, it's even written in the small print somewhere that Heritage employees are allowed to bid on auctions.

They used to use a bidder called "NP Gresham"

James Halperin, one of the owners of the auction house, testified under oath that N.P Gresham does not exist, but is in fact "Heritage or partnerships involving Heritage or independent contractors that worked for Heritage."

They are allowed to bid but only up to the reserve. My understanding is its legal in Texas up to the reserve and illegal after that (although I'm not a lawyer).

In other words, you'll never truly be bidding against them.