• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The two most common excuses for buyers remorse

234 posts in this topic

The two most common excuses I receive for not following through with a purchase on eBay has to be the following...

The “wife” excuse:

Nevermind, I found them. They look nice, maybe 9.0s. Unfortunately my wife is freaking out about this because I went over my budget. I'm going to have to cancel the purchase. I've never done that before. What do I do?

This guy kept me hanging for over a month with some nonsense about a credit card before he pulled the I “lost my job” excuse:

Here. You been waiting along time for me to pay you, but yesterday I got laid off. Work here in Alberta slowed right down. Major economic times. I am just having the worst luck of my life. Have to move in with my parents to make ends meet. So please understand comics are not a priority for me right now. I feel really awful. But if I can get more work later, I have your store saved for future purchases. You been so good to me. So please cancel, and I shall accept. I am sure another great person will have it, just not me! I feel like .
3rd time here in Alberta for me in 35 years. I really wanted your book, but I got to eat. No way of paying visa, even if it comes. I am sure you will sell it soon. Thank you. I just don't have a way of paying you. Thank you for waiting. I was optimistic, but lesson learned in many ways with these banks, PayPal, etc.

These are actual messages I received this week. I suppose both could be true except that these, or a variation there of, seem to be the only excuses I ever receive. After a while, it wears thin. If I had a nickel as they say... Any thing original out there?