• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What's going on with this Spirit 22 and how will it affect the grade? Take a look...
2 2

29 posts in this topic

Hello everyone:

Many of you may know me from other forums, but please allow a quick introduction.

Even though I've been collecting comics for 25 years, I've only recently fallen in love with Golden and Atomic Age comics. As you know, there are many considerations that must be made when collecting or grading older books, and many of these simply don't apply for moderns. I'm learning how to navigate these issues, and I have a question:

I came across THIS COPY OF SPIRIT 22 ON EBAY.

The following description from the auction does a pretty good job describing the issue with this particular book, so I will quote it here: 

The bottom edge of the book has purple coloring, originally applied to signify that this comic cannot be returned to the distributor for credit. This bleeds into the back cover a bit (see photos) and onto some pages, slightly. Color matches the front  cover and does not really show. Hard to grade, beautiful book, with this flaw on the bottom edge. 

My questions:

1. Was this a common practice back in the day? 

2. Who applied these sorts of marks? The distributor? 

3. Most importantly, how will the mark affect the grade? Will it get a blue label? Would it count as color touch? How would you go about deducting points, if any, from a book marked in this fashion? 

Thank you in advance for your responses. I look forward to learning more. :foryou: