• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Can Pedigree Copies be Faked?

11 posts in this topic

Since I'm fairly new to collecting Pedigrees and still don't own any Church copies, I wanted to educate myself a little by asking some questions. For instance, is it possible that there are books floating around out there with certain Pedigree notations, but come from different collections? I mean a lot of Pedigree books are identified with some pencil scribblings on the front cover that can be easily mimicked.

Now my question isn't geared towards books that cost in the thousands, and have plenty of track record for identification purposes. I'm talking about $300-$400 GA books with a couple of letters and numbers written on the cover. I realize that CGC won't give a Pedigree notation unless they can verify it by a certificate of some sort, and then by checking it for authenticity. However, let's say someone purchased an "Ohio" copy of a Fiction House book from a major dealer that has the Pedigree notation shown on the mylar label. What if that person owned another non-Pedigree copy of that same book, but in slightly better shape, and proceeded to copy the same scribblings on his book. Then prior to sending the book to CGC, they exchanged the outer mylars with the label designation. Would CGC be able to tell the difference if the scribblings are similar to other "Ohio" copies, while the outside mylar label gives additional proof that the book is a Pedigree?