• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Grader notes, for all comics or just when it hits a certain number or below?
1 1

10 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Newbie here.  Just received my first submission back from CGC.  Good news, all items were a 9.0 or higher except for one.  The one that came back as an 8.0 had notes, however that was the only one.  If it rates a 9.0 or higher is the assumption that it falls in a somewhat exclusive club and doesn't need or require a grader note?  

Graders notes.JPG

On 2/13/2021 at 3:29 PM, Jfend72 said:

Hi all,

Newbie here.  Just received my first submission back from CGC.  Good news, all items were a 9.0 or higher except for one.  The one that came back as an 8.0 had notes, however that was the only one.  If it rates a 9.0 or higher is the assumption that it falls in a somewhat exclusive club and doesn't need or require a grader note?  

Graders notes.JPG

There can be notes for 9.0s. 9.6 and off usually don't. If I were you, I would contact CGC to check what's going on.

On 2/13/2021 at 3:29 PM, Jfend72 said:

It could just be the need for speed... 

Well, apparently its up the grader and the notes are "not required" and "vary from grader to grader".  I'm guessing where CGC turnaround times are growing exponentially that to move items through the process they might be spending less time in areas such as grader's notes.

From Customer Service,

"Grader Notes are made at the graders' discretion; they are not a guaranteed part of the service but are provided as a courtesy to paid members and dealers when available. Often, they may not be entirely comprehensive or give a 100% accurate description of the defects and the notes vary from grader to grader.