• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Adventures with Crypto and Comics
1 1

42 posts in this topic

Over the course of the past few years I've gotten interested in the cryptocurrency space. Over the past week I got inspired (no idea why) and decided to see what happened if I combined crypto with my personal comic collection.

What resulted was a NFT (Non-Fungible Token) of the copy of Werewolf by Night 32 that @Rich_Hennassisted with in getting signed. Thought I would share since I'm curious if anyone had any feedback or thoughts on how I can make it look better. Here is a link to the NFT

Once I figure out how to potentially build some automation I may try to digitize my entire graded comic collection as NFT's just for fun.

A few items of note:

1) I am not a developer (amateur coder at best)

2) I am definitely not an artist (this was a best effort of what I thought might look cool)

3) Getting a good image of the cover is ridiculously difficult

On 8/30/2021 at 2:23 AM, Mecha_Fantastic said:

Do you need permission to get that as an NFT? 

He hasn't actually defined what that would even mean or how it would help a collector.

I'm curious. It kinda seems like he's just trying to sell pictures of his books? Weird.

NFT isn't a magic word. It doesn't make something valuable. NFT is just DRM (Digital Rights Management). It's just copy protection for a picture...but like not really because anyone can still got the picture. NFT's for visual art doesn't make sense because the value of the art isn't some vague concept of ownership, the value is looking at it. And anyone can look at it.