• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Where to Report/Request Assistance with Possible Grading Error/Fake I Purchased?
4 4

69 posts in this topic

I'm new, so I'll be brief: I recently purchased Ultimate Spider-Man #1 (Marvel/2000) at a 9.6, #3981670012. When it arrived I noticed that it had the "My Anti-Drug" advertisement on the back and was missing the Comics Code stamp on the front, all of which match the KB Toys reprint rather than the authentic Marvel newsstand edition. How was this book graded in error and not labeled as a reprint? I'm a rookie at buying graded books, have mostly bought/sold raw for twenty years, but this struck me as odd. Am I even in the right place to address this?

On 5/14/2022 at 7:12 PM, Ryan1983 said:

I'm new, so I'll be brief: I recently purchased Ultimate Spider-Man #1 (Marvel/2000) at a 9.6, #3981670012. When it arrived I noticed that it had the "My Anti-Drug" advertisement on the back and was missing the Comics Code stamp on the front, all of which match the KB Toys reprint rather than the authentic Marvel newsstand edition. How was this book graded in error and not labeled as a reprint? I'm a rookie at buying graded books, have mostly bought/sold raw for twenty years, but this struck me as odd. Am I even in the right place to address this?

I feel bad for you, but I really hope it is seller fraud and not just another case of goofy ol' CGC faceplanting again.  We all laugh about their daily gaffes, but I would hate to see someone new to the hobby get swindled like this by a company with "Certified" and "Guaranty" in their name.

I can't really say anything to help you, though, so I'll just offer my sympathy and support--and my hope that it's all some kind of a misunderstanding.

On 5/14/2022 at 9:27 PM, Axe Elf said: