• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My first Golden Age post with my first big Golden Age purchase.

29 posts in this topic

Bought this at my LCS and got a heck of a deal. With all the hoopla about high grade Silver Age books being pressed and trimmed I am thinking of buying books like this....mid to low grade Golden Age with nice eye appeal, basically if you buy from someone you trust no reason to have something like this slabbed.

983092-superman11.jpg

this is my first attempt at posting a picture so please be patient.

983092-superman11.jpg.fadef083a6915e0e00bd1860d0c7452c.jpg

Nice Superman!

With all the hoopla about high grade Silver Age books being pressed and trimmed I am thinking of buying books like this....mid to low grade Golden Age with nice eye appeal, basically if you buy from someone you trust no reason to have something like this slabbed.

Me too. I decided to go for an early Batman run. Hope this isn't the beginning of a trend or there will be alot more competition. 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

By the way, how would you guys bracket Low, Mid, and High Grades?

For example:

Low = 0.1-4.0

Mid = 4.1-7.0

High = 7.1-10.0

That sort of thing.

That's a little skewed for GA. My scale would be...

Low = 0.5-3.0

Mid = 3.5-6.5

High = 7.0-9.0

Really High = 9.0+

Nice pickup 893applaud-thumb.gif How come my LCS never has these sort of books?

Re: GA grading groups - my definitions:

Very low grade <1.8

Low Grade 1.8 - 3.5

Mid-grade 4.0 - 6.5

High grade 7.0 - 9.0

Extremely High grade >9.0