• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

off-center slabs?

18 posts in this topic

Hi I am new to slabbing. So far my experience with CGC has been less than stellar.  I just received my second batch of comics from a single (first time) order I submitted. I have a Hulk 180 that is slabbed off-center. Can someone please tell me if this is normal for a bronze age, and specifically for a Hulk 180? The other two comics in the order are not off-center, but are both ASM comics. I have no reference point to understand why this comic would be slabbed like this. Any guidance or info is appreciated.

I’d say google a bunch of other similar title comics from the same era

No pics?

On 5/12/2023 at 4:16 PM, JennyG13 said:

Hi I am new to slabbing. So far my experience with CGC has been less than stellar.  I just received my second batch of comics from a single (first time) order I submitted. I have a Hulk 180 that is slabbed off-center. Can someone please tell me if this is normal for a bronze age, and specifically for a Hulk 180? The other two comics in the order are not off-center, but are both ASM comics. I have no reference point to understand why this comic would be slabbed like this. Any guidance or info is appreciated.

On 5/14/2023 at 9:49 AM, Artboy99 said:

likely it is just the type of spacer they put into the slab. If it really bothers you contact CGC to see if it is a reason for a reholder submission.

Thanks for the feedback. It's hard to know what is standard vs. not acceptable and since I'm new to slabbing I can't foresee how something could be a later issue.

On 5/15/2023 at 8:31 AM, lostboys said:

Be careful tapping on the slab especially if it has those wedges holding the book in place.

You could tear the the inside of the book away from its staples.