• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

newbie question: am I being unreasonable?
1 1

15 posts in this topic

I'm a total newbie; I love reading comics, but I know nothing about value, etc. but I love myself some turtles. I picked up two books from a Canadian comic book store for fun, but am I just being picky in not finding this acceptable? The store assessed NM/NM- grade. It's not a local store, so I couldn't see it before shipping.

Comic #1 - TMNT Adventures Vol 2 #1

Are these perforation tears? It's only on a few pages. 

IMG_2915.thumb.jpg.be3fda613f1f31fec10bf648976e80c6.jpg

The reason I am thinking of returning it is this one page has a really thin spot. Am I unreasonable about that? Any guesses about what happened here? it's about the size of a dime.

IMG_2914.thumb.jpg.5908baf609f9b5f8d313d8d4af06771b.jpg

Comic #2 - TMNT Adventures Vol 2 #4, with corners like that this could never be NM graded, right? 

IMG_2911.thumb.jpg.505c7a6dc7b3c356813113d349f43065.jpgIMG_2912.thumb.jpg.48bfdac49446f0066d8d146f1fe6f2de.jpg

Any insight would be appreciated. 

On 5/30/2023 at 9:11 PM, KCOComics said:

Can you post some pictures not so zoomed in? It looks bad from the photos but it may be a little out of context. 

General rule, you gotta be happy with what you paid for. So if it's bothering you and the comic shop takes returns, I think it's reasonable to return it. 

Agreed, while I appreciate the zoomed in pics  a image of the entire front and back cover would add context.  Based on what I see they aren't NM

Picky, definitely :D The thing is, had they not made a big deal about it being NM (or close to it), then I probably would have been less driven to learn more about the grading and what the differences are (might not be a bad thing either way).