• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I recently purchased a CGG graded comic....and guess what?

416 posts in this topic

Here's a link to the auction -- ASM #122, CGG 9.4

Over the past several months, I have read many of the discussions about CGG graded comics on these forums, but to be perfectly fair to them, I wanted to purchase a comic and find out for myself what their grading standards are like.

My analysis:

ASM #122 (CGG 9.4, serial #501014844) has been trimmed on both the top and bottom edges. The angle of the cut is not consistent from corner to corner and there are significant alignment problems between the cover and the pages. I'm an expert in baseball cards, not comic books, but I'd judge the alterations to be the work of an amateur.

I'll give the seller a chance to give me a refund, otherwise negative feedback will be forthcoming. sumo.gif

I wouldn't be so quick to press that negative button. Many comics are cut out of alignment. It is actually a very common occurance. And many times the cover does not match up square with the interior pages. Or, it could have been trimmed. I realize that until recently CGG has not had restoration detection services, but that does not mean that this book went by unnoticed. It may not be trimmed. I would have someone that really knows what they are doing look at the book first. My guess: the book was just miscut. -----Sid