• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Best War Covers...

167 posts in this topic

Ok, I'm sure there's been one of these threads at some point, but a search by title for "War Covers" turned up nothing so here we go.

I've always had a huge interest in WWII. Now that you fine folks have piqued my interest in GA comics I've discovered that I can combine the two. Since I'm still new to the GA world though I was hoping that you guys could post some of your favorite war covers.

My primary interest in WWII is all the wonderful airplanes so this series definitely grabbed me quickly...

wings78.jpg

The B-17 is my favorite cloud9.gif

The Golden Age Have a Cigar thread has alot of great war covers posted. If airplanes are your main interest than Wings is a great title to collect - and fairly cheap as well. L.B. Cole did some beautiful WW2 airplane covers for Contact, Captain Aero and Captain Flight.

Here's a classic. Harley is selling this copy on Ebay right now. Mine's a little nicer, but still has the damage at the top. This book is oversized, and I've never seen a copy without the top 1/2 inch of the spine bent. 424445-usmab.JPG

424445-usmab.JPG.a9e46a748cd5b4a96afa2ce22c803806.JPG

Alright PedigreeMan... I went in search of some of these Flying Aces comics and I could find even a single issue on any of the sites that I know of that sell GA stuff. Do you have any idea where I can look for them at? And do you have any more covers to show us? grin.gif