• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Storing Your Modern Comics

28 posts in this topic

Hello,

I have been collecting since 1986. A lot of my stuff just went into polyethylene comic bags and long boxes. I think they are holding up pretty well, although it might be time to change those original bags(but who has the time or money to re-bag EVERYTHING!).

These days all the local shops seem to be carrying the Ultra Pro polypropylene bags. I have been using Ultra Pro brand backing boards on my new comic purchases that I feel are "board worthy". Comics like Jim Lee's Batman, Marc Silvestri's New X-Men and Micheal Turner's Aspen and Superman covers are absolute treasures to me! Those babies get extra special care and are carefully placed into a silver age polypropylene bag with backing board.

How do YOU care for your "modern trasures"? Do you go all out with expensive Mylar and ACID FREE backing boards?

I do not plan on CGCing any of this stuff. I just want to keep it as Minty as can be. CGC has made me more critical of the condition of my new comics. I take my time and "cherry pick" my comics each Wednesday morning. I remember the days when I would just pick a copy off the rack, go home and read it, then put it in a bag and long box. Life was a lot easier then. grin.gif

THANKS!

27_laughing.gif

You're a non-literate troll, but funny nonetheless. wink.gif

893whatthe.gif

You, you're just a non-literate troll. sumo.gif

I think you're trying to use the word "illiterate" grin.gif

Normal Ultra Pro comic series bags and acid free backing boards for everything. Don't be afraid to still take your books home and read them and then throw them in a bag.