• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Introduction & History

18 posts in this topic

Hello, I recently joined the forums here and have been reading and learning for a month or so. I wanted to say hello and introduce myself.

I've been collecting (off and on) for close to 30 years now, starting when I was a kid around 10 and continuing to now.

My first stage of collecting was in the late 70's - 80's when I was young. My home town didn't have it's own comic store but there was one about 20 miles away in a nearby town. My family would go there once or twice a month to go to the mall and eat out, or whatever, and I'd ask to stop by the comic shop. I'd pick up the latest issues (pretty much Marvel and DC) and be on my way.

During this first stage I was a reader. From a collecting standpoint, the concept of a back issue was me picking up the last issue I missed. Fortunately, I kept the comics in good shape and was using bags. Unfortunately, this is not exactly a golden era of investing so most of my comics have probably about held there value 30 years later. I'm sure there are some nice gems from this time period too. I'm doing an inventory now (more on that later).