• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Marvel, where to start?

23 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I have a bit of a dilemma here.

I'm new to collecting, and I'm starting to build Silver Age runs of these comics: ASM, TOS, X-Men, DD, FF.

Is there any must have or specific runs of these comics you would absolutely recommend?

Enrico

Hey Enrico, welcome to the boards and best to you in your collecting adventures. Most people will say buy what you personally like if youre building a collection. Whether it's the cover art or a particular character or artist you like, you can't go wrong buying what you like.

With that said, buying the best keys, in the best condition you can afford first and then building your collection around those books tends to be a good strategy. By keys I mean first appearances and the big Marvel #1's(Hulk, 1, Amazing Spider-man #1, etc). For example, if Spider-man is your favorite and you have set aside $10,000 or so US to start your collection, buy the best graded copy of Amazing Fantasy #15 that you can now. Big books like that may be considerably more pricey a year or two from now while a lot of the common stuff may see little to no increase in value and you can just buy them as you go. And you can always find deals on common/minor keys. Unless you have a lot of time and are in the right place at the right time your not going to get a sweetheart deal on a big key. Also, try to stay in the fine grade range or higher if you can in common stuff.

I hope that makes some sense. And again, welcome! :) - Nik

Hi everyone,

I'm new to collecting, and I'm starting to build Silver Age runs of these comics: ASM, TOS, X-Men, DD, FF.