• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Cleaning and pressing? Have CGC do it or someone else?

23 posts in this topic

On 5/26/2022 at 9:22 AM, Alan Gray said:

Is it better to have CGC press and clean or have an outside party press and clean and then send to CGC? Is it faster? Cheaper? I’m still new to the whole slabbed comic world 

Use someone else. CCS is expensive, slow and cares more about quantity than quality. 

On 5/26/2022 at 1:55 PM, comicginger1789 said:

CGC are quick pressers...if it is a book from 1990 to now, sure using CGC is probably fine and they will eliminate most of the flaws.

For higher value older books, I would invest some money and time into finding someone with proven experience

248 days is fast?

On 5/26/2022 at 11:28 AM, gregwynn said:

248 days is fast?

Yes, as the more common vintage comic category used to take 484 business days. Success means slower turnaround times (22 months including pressing backlog time).

On 5/26/2022 at 2:28 PM, gregwynn said:

248 days is fast?

I think quick press refers to a specific method of pressing where you just throw the book in the press for 1-2 rounds since it usually doesn't have any flaws that need special attention. It refers to the amount of time the pressing itself takes, not the turnaround time.

On 5/26/2022 at 9:22 AM, Alan Gray said:

Is it better to have CGC press and clean or have an outside party press and clean and then send to CGC? Is it faster? Cheaper? I’m still new to the whole slabbed comic world 

CGC's wait time and price is similar to the best in the industry. I used both them and an outside party and the results for modern books were comparative. So in the end, it's more about convenience. Do you want to deal with 2 different companies to get your books pressed and graded or 1.