• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Progression of Comic Art Buying Question(s)
2 2

34 posts in this topic

So I have been collecting comic art for only about 4 years and I love it!  However, there are times where I don't love it...prices too high, a page I really liked sold, ridiculously high prices on recent flipped pages, etc.

I have been mainly buying published pages around $500 and I have been enjoying the ones I have purchased.  However, I feel like I want to take the next step and buy more expensive pages and/or pages from more well known artists. 

Ultimately, I am conflicted...I like & enjoy the pages I buy, but is my desire to want better quality/more expensive pages a true natural progression in this hobby?  I'm not talking big dollars...$1K to $2K.

AND

In your opinion, is it better to buy pages (most likely more expensive) from more popular artists with maybe less action/less main characters or cheaper pages with better action/main characters?  I'm looking to keep all pages I have & not sell them as an investment fyi.

I know and have read "buy what you like" and really have adopted that philosophy, but I am curious your opinion what your progression was/is...

Thanks for your input/feedback

I buy for keeps too.

I'm usually going for artist or character, and hopefully sometimes story. When you hit it all that's the sweet spot. And I seem to alternate between nostalgia vs "better" newer art.

Keep going for published pages. Write out your top goals. Naturally, the more desirable pages will cost more.

I'm also for stretching a bit on purchase price to get something you really like (as long as it's not gonna get you in trouble). So if you usually buy $500 pages, maybe hold out 2-4x as long and get that $1k or 2k page. Slowly stalk your prey and wait for a deal.