• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The dollars and cents of collecting-Your opinions.

92 posts in this topic

First let me thank everyone for a ton of great advice and guidence, got the Overstreet grading guide and i'm studying it diligentlly, more so i don't get ripped, than what to do with my books.

Anyway, floating around the boards i am astonished at the prices some of you are paying for comics, you are true collectors. I just can't bring myself to spend those figures on books, so I find myself picking up current issues and some Bronze books that i find in "Good" or better condition for next to nothing.

I just picked up an Amazing Spiderman #30 & #56 in GOOD or better condition, (again thats my assesment) for $20.00. I'm a big Spiderman Fan so i feel it was a great deal.

I was just wondering how you all felt about picking up "Good" condition books, I think you have refered to them as "Reader" copies, but if it's something that appeals to you and it looks descent (To my currentlly untrained eye) Is it a waste of money, should i hold out for VF as a bare minimum. I'm not looking to make money on the "Hobby" but is it a smarter choice to collect higher grade books.