• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Why are people buying this book?

35 posts in this topic

"MARVEL COLLECTIBLE CLASSICS: SPIDER-MAN (CHROMIUM) # 1 "

I've been tracking this book since last June 2006. Back then, it was easy to get this book for $150-$300. Now, I see eBay auctions going well over this price. You know what the scary part is? Back in June, www.comicspriceguide.com listed the CGC 9.4 value for this book as $20. It's now $264.00? Demand really drove up the price of this book.....but why? Venom appearance? low print? (Every auction has a different number "Only xxx printed!")

I understand that an item becomes more desirable that people will pay more and more money for it. I don't understand why it causes the guide value of this book to increase.....because people are so dumb to pay this price for it. Could this scenario be a long-term example of overpriced issues, like the "Death of Superman" issue or Capt. America#25 eBay fiasco? Can anyone explain? frown.gif

-Issa

Movie expectations? confused-smiley-013.gif

Its the chromium reprint of Amazing Spiderman 300. I bought my old copy raw a couple of years ago for 50 bucks. Had it slabbed and came back a 9.8. I sold it for 465 dollars which seems to be really cheap compared to the GPA numbers last 90 days 557.88.

First of all: To each his own. If people want to spend crazy money for this book, great for them. Lord knows, I've wasted enough money myself.

Personally, I would never pay that kind of jack for a reprint. Got my copy for $15.

Now, reasons why I think it is escalating in price:

(1) ASM completist (like myself) need it because we think it is part of the run. Even though it came out several years after the original.