• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Asking prices for OA thoughts

29 posts in this topic

I have been dabbling in OA for a couple years. Nothing too serious. My main avenue for accumulating art has been through the various auction houses (comiclink and heritage). I like the format, where I can scroll through the art and just browse buy a random page as I like.

I know alot of people on here swear by CAF but for the life of me, I dont find it user friendly. Unless I haven't found it, there isnt a good way to just browse random artwork for sale.....

Also, I have noticed for the most part (and this is where your opinions come into play) that most peoples asking price is skewed much higher than what the art seems to be going at the auction houses. Im not talking highend pieces, Im just talking normal pages >$1000.

Even when people list pages in this forum, their asking price seems high. I know the "asking" price is a starting point but the the sales price and asking price seldom seem to be close. Additionally, most of the reps and "art dealers" are 100's more than what pieces auction for. Most of these pieces just sit without much turnover (you can witness this on CAF) or even in the OA for section here.

So, in summary to me, there seems to be a great disconnect between what people ask and what pieces go for. It makes it difficult to buy pieces because I almost feel that unless it goes at an auction house, Im paying to much. Am I seeing this correctly? DO you art buffs get the asking price without auctions? And if not, why such the large disconnect in asking and realized price?

Sorry for the random thoughts on this. I really want to buy more art but the whole industry seems pretty arbitrary.