• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What is your budget for a typical non-key issue comic, for each age?
1 1

37 posts in this topic

Admittedly, I'm new to comic collecting, but I'd like to get an idea for what people consider to be "normal" in terms of how much they're willing to put in for each individual issue, especially in series/runs.

I've just finished collecting the entire Chip 'n' Dale series (Golden Age, Silver Age, and Modern Age), at an average cost of around ~$5.80 USD per issue, after shipping. (The shipping was the worst part, not the actual comics themselves, since I live in Canada.)

I've started up a Tom & Jerry collection, and although issues from Tom & Jerry Comics #60 and onwards can be acquired (with some patience) at around the same cost on average, the issues before that, Our Gang #1-59, are basically relics of the Golden Age and will cost anywhere from $10-40 USD (or more) each for generally a Good grade (before shipping). This looks a bit daunting to me, as someone expanding from a tighter budget who is concerned about damaged comics.

How do you people approach your collection? Just be patient and wait for cheap copies, or maybe splurge once a month for a single issue after getting your paycheck?

Edited by stormflora

Eighty to ninety percent of today's comics can be bought for half price or less a few months after release.  Buying back issues is much cheaper and easier. 

You might consider that.

I'll buy most SA books I find under $5, and BA books in VF or so for $2 or less.

Shipping is important, and something rookies often overlook.  Buying ten books from one person saves you compared to ten individual sellers. Establish relationships with sellers, and they might hold books for you to combine shipping.