• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What does PRESSING IT OUT mean exactly?

383 posts in this topic

I am new to getting my comics graded and only have a handle full of CGC and SS CGC books, and I have heard many people mention, that this book or that book might carry a 9.6 or 9.8 after pressing it out. Can someone explain that to me a little?

lol here is an instructional video of how to press a comic book..pressing means to flatten it by pressing it in a dry press or using a heat press of some sort..

You can check out the part two of this video on youtube...

good luck with this thread

I would like to mention this video is tongue in cheek and freaking hilarious..and I find it suspicious that one of the most liked comments on this video is

"Doctor Watson is a poopie head"

not my words but oddly by a user named Gregloey..

make of it what you will

I am new to getting my comics graded and only have a handle full of CGC and SS CGC books, and I have heard many people mention, that this book or that book might carry a 9.6 or 9.8 after pressing it out. Can someone explain that to me a little?

The act of restoring a book to its previous state.....

For example:

Let's say you have a 9.8 Hulk 181. You shake that puppy until its about a 9.2

Then send that 9.2 to a pressing service & have the damage "PRESSED OUT".

Resub the book to CGC & voila....it's a 9.8 again. :cloud9:

The act of restoring a book to its previous state.....

If that's the case, then it's a shame we can't press out your thumb. (thumbs u