• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

CGC Grading Changes
4 4

25 posts in this topic

Hello!  I am new to the card world and even newer into the grading card world.  I have heard that CGC will be removing certain grades such as 9.5 and will be replaced with 3 different 10 options. ( Gem Mint 10, Pristine 10 and Perfect 10)  My first question is, is this true?  If so, I heard one can resubmit their 9.5s to get the updated 10.  Is that also correct?

Side Note, I spoke with some of your reps at an event a few weeks back and everyone there was great, it was an awesome experience.

Thank You, Chris Rosmarin

• Administrator

Hello @cjspade

Thank you for contacting us. I am very happy you had a great experience with our events team!

This is a great question! Cards previously graded Gem Mint 9.5 are equivalent to Gem Mint 10 under the updated grading scale. They will soon be reflected in the CGC Cards Certification Verification, Population Report, and Registry resources under the Gem Mint 10 grade without any action needing to be taken by collectors and dealers.

For collectors and dealers who want to reholder cards certified by CGC Trading Cards and CSG with the new CGC Cards label, CGC Cards will lower its reholder fee to just $5 until September 30, 2023, for cards valued under $10,000. Any cards with a grade of Gem Mint 9.5 will receive the CGC Cards Gem Mint 10 grade.

If you have any other questions, please let us know.