• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Took the plunge and crossed the 10k+ purchase threshold after almost 15 years of collecting.

18 posts in this topic

On 6/28/2024 at 9:59 AM, Phill the Governor said:

Hey everyone,

I've been collecting OA for roughly 15 years now. I'm a budget buyer, with a few exceptions. I've been lucky enough to be secure some higher end pieces over the years with time payments that I wouldn't have been able to afford otherwise. My price ceiling, even with payments, was about 5-6k though which ultimately limited what I could pick up. "Buy what you love" they say, but the stuff I really like is/was at least 2-4 times my normal budget.

That said a few years ago I got my first piece by Lee Bermejo and fell in love. I've been slowing picking up more by him but for some of his higher end stuff I'd have to break past my comfort zone. So low and behold a sweet page comes up at Heritage at the end of last year that I'm expecting to go well past my normal budget. Heritage makes it really easy to hit that bid button, and in the heat of the final bidding I put in a bid (expecting to get immediately outbid) the hammer came down and I won! Equal excitement and fear as I now had a contract to pay for the page.